ZHH

ZHH

The Center for higher education didactics and applied higher education research (ZHH) was founded in 2010 at Magdeburg-Stendal University, and in the context of the funding line "Quality Pact for Teaching" of the BMBF. The priority aim of the Center's research, which is closely linked to the support the Center provides in the areas of higher education didactics and media didactics, is to promote, on an empirical foundation, the range of academic programmes offered by the Magdeburg University.

Applied higher education research is understood as a dynamic combination of empiricism, didactic intervention and organisational development that provides higher education managers with solid information about the quality and impacts of the study programmes and teaching that their institutions offer. Such information serves as a foundation for management decisions. Applied higher education research differs from "institutional research," an internationally common approach, in that it focuses not on higher education institutions' quality management in studies and teaching, but on their practical efforts to develop and improve, also through review and reflection, the education they offer their students. In intervention-research projects, and on a model basis, the ZHH develops instruments, methods and designs with which higher education institutions can independently develop and enhance their educational offerings in scientifically founded ways. In terms of research methods, this priority is implemented via interventional and organisational-developmental approaches drawn from social research. For this reason, the academic teachers involved participate in processing the resulting scientific findings, in interpreting the empirical data tied to such findings, and in publishing such findings.

In keeping with the needs of the university, the research topics to date have included:

  • Development of academic aptitude in continuing education programmes
  • Development of academic aptitude in engineering students, during students' introductory phase of studies in mathematics
  • Promotion of learning processes in engineering students, and especially promotion of theory-practice transfer via media-didactic design of virtual access to real laboratories
  • Processes of integration of political refugees who have academic backgrounds, or who are seeking to enter higher education, in the framework of a structured preparation programme
  • The influence of institutional frameworks on student well-being, as a foundation for continuing good academic achievement

The Center has one W3-level professorship and a total of ten scientific and non-scientific staff positions. The professorship participates in the "vocational training and human resources development" doctoral programme ("Berufsbildung und Personalentwicklung") of Otto von Guericke University of Magdeburg; this facilitates structured support for ongoing doctoral projects.

ZHH

ZHH

Das Zentrum für Hochschuldidaktik und angewandte Hochschulforschung (ZHH) wurde 2010 an der Hochschule Magdeburg-Stendal im Kontext der Förderlinie "Qualitätspakt Lehre" des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) gegründet. Prioritäres Ziel der Forschung, die eng mit dem hochschul- und mediendidaktischen Support des Zentrums vernetzt ist, ist die empirisch fundierte Entwicklung des akademischen Bildungsangebots der Hochschule Magdeburg-Stendal selbst.

Angewandte Hochschulforschung wird definiert als das intendierte Zusammenspiel von Empirie, hochschuldidaktischer Intervention und Organisationsentwicklung, das den Verantwortlichen in der Hochschule fundierte Informationen über Qualität und Wirkung ihres eigenen institutionellen Angebots in Studium und Lehre als Entscheidungsgrundlage rückmeldet. Vom international verbreiteten Ansatz des Institutional Research unterscheidet sich die angewandte Hochschulforschung insofern, als dass sie nicht das Qualitätsmanagement in Studium und Lehre als institutionelle Aufgabe, sondern die kritisch-reflexive Entwicklung der Hochschulbildung ihrer Studierenden als alltägliche Praxis fokussiert. Modellhaft werden am ZHH in konkreten Forschungsprojekten Instrumente, Methoden und Designs der Interventionsforschung entwickelt, die Hochschulen eine wissenschaftlich reflektierte Entwicklung ihres konkreten Bildungsangebots aus eigener Kraft ermöglichen. Forschungsmethodisch wird diese Priorisierung durch eine Interventions- und Organisationsentwicklungsdimension im Sinn der Sozialforschung umgesetzt. Die akademisch Lehrenden sind deshalb an der Aufarbeitung des aktuellen wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnisstandes, an der daran orientierten Interpretation der empirischen Befunde sowie an deren Publikation beteiligt.

Gemäß des Bedarfs der Hochschule sind die bisherigen Forschungsthemen:

  • Die Entwicklung der Studierfähigkeit in Weiterbildungsstudiengängen
  • Die Entwicklung der Studierfähigkeit ingenieurwissenschaftlicher Studierender in der Studieneingangsphase im Lehrgebiet Mathematik
  • Die Förderung der Lernprozesse ingenieurwissenschaftlicher Studierender, insbesondere des Theorie-Praxistransfers durch die mediendidaktische Gestaltung von virtuellen Zugängen zu realen Laboren
  • Integrationsprozesse politischer Flüchtlinge mit akademischen Hintergründen bzw. Ambitionen in die Hochschulkultur im Rahmen eines strukturierten Vorbereitungsprogramms
  • Der Einfluss institutioneller Rahmenbedingungen auf das studentische Wohlbefinden („student well being“) als Grundlage für eine langfristig erfolgreiche Studienperformanz

Dem Zentrum stehen eine W3-Professur sowie insgesamt zehn nicht-wissenschaftliche und wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterstellen zur Verfügung. Die laufenden Promotionsvorhaben werden durch die Beteiligung der Professur am Promotionsstudiengang „Berufsbildung und Personalentwicklung“ der Otto-von-Guericke Universität Magdeburg strukturiert betreut.