ITAS

ITAS

The Institute for Technology Assessment and Systems Analysis (ITAS) pursues problem-oriented research with a view to advising policy-makers and society. To this end, it analyses and assesses technologies and innovation processes with regard to the opportunities and risks they present and, in its primary focus, studies the societal conditions under which technology development and innovation thrive.

ITAS works in the following research areas:

  • The research area "Sustainability and environment": Technical, ecological, economic and societal approaches for more-sustainable use of limited resources, and strategies for more-sustainable urban development
  • The research area "Innovation processes and impacts of technology": The opportunities and risks inherent in key technologies such as digital information and communications technologies, nanotechnology and technologies for future mobility and transport concepts
  • The research area "Knowledge society and knowledge policy": Analysis of societal change processes, with regard to the three core dimensions of technology-impacts assessment – knowledge, advising and decision-making
  • The research area "Energy – resources, technologies, systems": Scientific support for the transformation of our energy system, toward greater sustainability, on the basis of technology-based system analyses and socio-technological scenarios

Over 100 scientists work at ITAS, in a framework of interdisciplinary cooperation. The fields they represent range from science and engineering to philosophy and sociology. In addition, ITAS emphasises transdisciplinary research approaches, in efforts that include work in the "District Future – Urban Lab" (Quartier Zukunft) project in Karlsruhe.

For over 25 years, ITAS has run the Office of Technology Assessment at the German Bundestag (TAB). Currently, it is managing the office in cooperation with the Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research (UFZ), the Institute for Future Studies and Technology Assessment (IZT) and VDI/VDE Innovation + Technology GmbH. In addition to communicating its research findings to a wide range of specialised audiences, ITAS applies its findings to the task of advising policy-makers and the public.

ITAS is sited within the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), the research university within the Helmholtz Association. Its research is grouped within the Helmholtz programme "Technology, Innovation and Society." Its important external customers include the German and European parliaments, the EU Commission and various federal and Länder ministries and government agencies.

ITAS

ITAS

Das Institut für Technikfolgenabschätzung und Systemanalyse (ITAS) betreibt problemorientierte Forschung in politik- und gesellschaftsberatender Absicht. Dazu werden Technologien und Innovationsprozesse nicht nur hinsichtlich ihrer Chancen und Risiken analysiert und bewertet – vielmehr liegt der Schwerpunkt auch auf den gesellschaftlichen Voraussetzungen von Technikentwicklung und Innovationshandeln.

Das ITAS arbeitet in Forschungsbereichen (FB) zu verschiedenen Schwerpunkten:

  • FB „Nachhaltigkeit und Umwelt“: Technische, ökologische, ökonomische und gesellschaftliche Ansätze für einen nachhaltigeren Umgang mit knappen Ressourcen sowie Strategien für eine nachhaltigere Stadtentwicklung
  • FB „Innovationsprozesse und Technikfolgen“: Chancen und Risiken von Schlüsseltechnologien wie digitalen Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien, Nanotechnologie oder Technologien für zukünftige Mobilitäts- und Verkehrskonzepte
  • FB „Wissensgesellschaft und Wissenspolitik“: Analyse gesellschaftlicher Wandlungsprozesse in den drei Kerndimensionen der Technikfolgenabschätzung: Wissen, Beraten und Entscheiden
  • FB „Energie – Ressourcen, Technologien, Systeme“: Wissenschaftliche Unterstützung der Transformation des Energiesystems hin zu mehr Nachhaltigkeit auf Basis techniknaher Systemanalysen und sozio-technischer Szenarien

Am ITAS arbeiten über 100 Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler interdisziplinär zusammen. Ihr Spektrum reicht von den Natur- und Ingenieurwissenschaften bis hin zur Philosophie und Soziologie. Darüber hinaus setzt das ITAS auch auf transdisziplinäre Forschungsansätze, u.a. in einem eigens eingerichteten Reallabors im Karlsruher Quartier Zukunft.

Das ITAS betreibt seit über 25 Jahren das Büro für Technikfolgen-Abschätzung beim Deutschen Bundestag (TAB) – derzeit in Kooperation mit dem Helmholtz-Zentrum für Umweltforschung GmbH – UFZ, dem IZT – Institut für Zukunftsstudien und Technologiebewertung gGmbH sowie der VDI/VDE Innovation + Technik GmbH. Die Ergebnisse der ITAS-Forschung werden neben der Kommunikation für ganz unterschiedliche Fachöffentlichkeiten, insbesondere auch für die Politik- und Gesellschaftsberatung genutzt.

Das ITAS ist angesiedelt am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT), der Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft. Seine Forschung ist im Helmholtz-Programm "Technologie, Innovation und Gesellschaft" angesiedelt. Wichtige externe Auftraggeber sind das deutsche und europäische Parlament, die EU-Kommission, Bundes- und Landesministerien sowie Behörden.