ISI

ISI

The Fraunhofer Institute for Systems and Innovation Research ISI analyses the origins and impacts of innovations. It studies the short-term and long-term development of innovation processes, and the societal impacts of new technologies and services. On this basis, it provides its customers, in the political, industry and science sectors, with recommendations for action and perspectives for important decisions.

The Fraunhofer Institute for Systems and Innovation Research ISI analyses the origins and impacts of innovations. It studies the short-term and long-term development of innovation processes, and the societal impacts of new technologies and services. On this basis, it provides its customers, in the political, industry and science sectors, with recommendations for action and perspectives for important decisions. The Fraunhofer ISI's strengths include solid scientific expertise and an interdisciplinary, systemic research approach.

The Fraunhofer ISI currently employs some 210 people, including scientists and researchers from the areas of the natural sciences, engineering, economics and the social sciences. Its staff work on some 400 research projects per year. The institute's annual budget, which amounted to 22.5 million euros in 2016, is based on orders from the national and international public sectors, from the business enterprise sector and from foundations and science organisations.

The Fraunhofer ISI is an internationally oriented institute for innovation research. It maintains intensive scientific contacts – including such activities as exchanges of visiting scientists and researchers – with the U.S., Japan and the BRICS countries.

The institute cooperates closely with partners, including the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), the University of Kassel, the University of Strasbourg, ETH Zurich, Virginia Tech (U.S.) and the Institute of Policy and Management (IPM) in Beijing.

ISI

ISI

Das Fraunhofer-Institut für System- und Innovationsforschung ISI analysiert Entstehung und Auswirkungen von Innovationen. Es erforscht die kurz- und langfristigen Entwicklungen von Innovationsprozessen und die gesellschaftlichen Auswirkungen neuer Technologien und Dienstleistungen. Auf dieser Grundlage stellt es seinen Auftraggebern aus Wirtschaft, Politik und Wissenschaft Handlungsempfehlungen und Perspektiven für wichtige Entscheidungen zur Verfügung.

Das Fraunhofer-Institut für System- und Innovationsforschung ISI analysiert Entstehung und Auswirkungen von Innovationen. Es erforscht die kurz- und langfristigen Entwicklungen von Innovationsprozessen und die gesellschaftlichen Auswirkungen neuer Technologien und Dienstleistungen. Auf dieser Grundlage stellt es seinen Auftraggebern aus Wirtschaft, Politik und Wissenschaft Handlungsempfehlungen und Perspektiven für wichtige Entscheidungen zur Verfügung. Die Expertise des Fraunhofer ISI liegt in der fundierten wissenschaftlichen Kompetenz sowie einem interdisziplinären und systemischen Forschungsansatz.

Heute beschäftigt das Fraunhofer ISI rund 210 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter, darunter Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus den Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaften, die pro Jahr an rund 400 Forschungsprojekten arbeiten. Das jährliche Budget, 22,5 Millionen Euro im Jahr 2016, wird vornehmlich durch Aufträge der nationalen und internationalen öffentlichen Hand, aus der Wirtschaft sowie von Stiftungen und Wissenschaftsorganisationen eingenommen.

Als international ausgerichtetes Innovationsforschungsinstitut pflegt das Fraunhofer ISI einen intensiven wissenschaftlichen Dialog mit den USA, Japan sowie den BRICS-Ländern, beispielsweise durch den Austausch von Gastwissenschaftlern.

Das Fraunhofer ISI arbeitet eng mit seinen Partnern, dem Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT), der Universität Kassel, der Universität Straßburg, der ETH Zürich, dem Virginia Tech in den USA und dem Institute of Policy and Management (IPM) in Peking zusammen.