Interviews

Eva Barlösius

Institutes of research | Interview

Globalised knowledge societies

Eva Barlösius, professor for macrosociology and social structure analysis (since 2007) at Leibniz Universität Hannover, is head of the Leibniz Center for Science and Society (LCSS) at Leibniz Universität Hannover. Her research emphasis lies in the area of science research. The areas she covers include scientific infrastructures, concepts of scientific originality, data sharing, departmental research and scientific language. more: Globalised knowledge societies.

Reinmann

Institutes of research | Interview

Placing greater trust in researchers

Gabi Reinmann is head of the Hamburg Center for University Teaching and Learning (HUL). In her professorship at Universität Hamburg, she works to improve higher education teaching – via creative research and practically oriented commitment. more: Placing greater trust in researchers.

Marianne Merkt

Institutes of research | Interview

The need for critical reflection about culture in higher education

Marianne Merkt is head of the ZHH - Centre for higher education didactics and applied higher education research. Since 2012, she has held a professorship for higher education research and knowledge management at the Magdeburg-Stendal University. In her research, she focuses especially on professionalisation of higher education teaching and higher education didactics. In addition, she studies the institutional and cultural factors affecting prospective students with refugee backgrounds. more: The need for critical reflection about culture in higher education.

Pasternack

Institutes of research | Interview

An "aloof affinity" with universities

Prof. Dr. Peer Pasternack is Director of the Institut Hochschulforschung (Institute for higher education research) of Martin Luther University of Halle-Wittenberg. He also teaches sociology. He lists his research emphases as "education and science in demographically challenged regions, higher education policy, organisational structures in the higher education sector, quality assurance and development [in the academic sphere], academic education and history of contemporary science." more: An "aloof affinity" with universities.

Wilkesmann

Institutes of research | Interview

Our higher education institutions hold keys to our innovation – and our future

Uwe Wilkesmann is Director of the Center for Higher Education (Zentrum für Hochschulbildung) at TU Dortmund University. He also holds a professorship at that university for organisational studies, continuing education and social management. His teaching emphases at the university include empirical social research, educational sociology and knowledge management. more: Our higher education institutions hold keys to our innovation – and our future.

Welpe

Institutes of research | Interview

Higher education institutions prepare the world for the future

Prof. Dr. Isabell Welpe has been scientific director of the IHF since 2014. The Institute supports Bavaria's policymakers and higher education institutions in their efforts to strengthen research and teaching capacities with regard to the aim of assuring the long-term health of the state's society and economy. As a researcher who studies strategy and organisations, Welpe finds it important "to study and help guide and shape higher education institutions, which are a key source of innovation." more: Higher education institutions prepare the world for the future.

Krücken INCHER

Institutes of research | Interview

"We can always learn."

Prior to joining the renowned International Centre for Higher Education Research (INCHER-Kassel), Prof. Dr. Georg Krücken held an endowed Chair for Science Organization, Higher Education and Science Management at the University of Speyer. Only five years later, in October 2011, he became Director of INCHER-Kassel.  more: "We can always learn.".

Jungbauer-Gans

Institutes of research | Interview

A holistic, interdisciplinary approach

Prof. Dr. Monika Jungbauer-Gans has been scientific director of the German Centre for Higher Education Research and Science Studies (DZHW) since 1 September 2015. The DZHW studies the higher education and science system from a holistic perspective that takes account of all aspects of the system – including teaching, studies, doctoral degrees, continuing scientific education, research, knowledge transfer and innovation. Analysis of socially relevant topics is central to the Centre's profile.  more: A holistic, interdisciplinary approach.

Interviews

Armin Grunwald

Institute im Inland | Interview

Gestaltungsoptionen in technologischen Entwicklungsprozessen erschließen

Armin Grunwald leitet das Institut für Technikfolgenabschätzung und Systemanalyse (ITAS) am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) und hat eine Professur für Technikphilosophie und Technikethik inne. Als Leiter des Büros für Technikfolgen-Abschätzung (TAB) berät er zudem den Deutschen Bundestag und seine Ausschüsse in Fragen des wissenschaftlich-technischen Wandels. Seine Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen im Bereich der Nachhaltigkeit, Technikfolgenabschätzung und Ethik neuer Technologien.  mehr: Gestaltungsoptionen in technologischen Entwicklungsprozessen erschließen.

Eva Barlösius

Institute im Inland | Interview

Globalisierte Wissensgesellschaften

Eva Barlösius leitet das Leibniz Center for Science and Society (LCSS) an der Leibniz Universität Hannover und hat dort seit 2007 eine Professur für Makrosoziologie und Sozialstrukturanalyse inne. Ihr Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt im Bereich der Wissenschaftsforschung; hier beschäftigt sie sich unter anderem mit wissenschaftlichen Infrastrukturen, Konzepten wissenschaftlicher Originalität, data sharing, Ressortforschung und Wissenschaftssprache. mehr: Globalisierte Wissensgesellschaften.

Reinmann

Institute im Inland | Interview

Forschenden mehr vertrauen

Gabi Reinmann leitet das Hamburger Zentrum für Universitäres Lehren und Lernen. Ihre Professur an der Universität Hamburg nutzt Sie dazu, die Hochschullehre zu verbessern – mit kreativer Forschung und praktischem Engagement. mehr: Forschenden mehr vertrauen.

Marianne Merkt

Institute im Inland | Interview

Die Notwendigkeit zur kritischen Reflexion der Hochschulkultur

Marianne Merkt leitet das Zentrum für Hochschuldidaktik und angewandte Hochschulforschung (ZHH) und hat seit 2012 eine Professur für Hochschuldidaktik und Wissensmanagement an der Hochschule Magdeburg-Stendal inne. Ihr Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt in der Professionalisierung der Hochschullehre und Hochschuldidaktik. Darüber hinaus beschäftigt sie sich mit institutionellen und kulturellen Rahmenbedingungen von Studieninteressierten mit Flüchtlingshintergrund.  mehr: Die Notwendigkeit zur kritischen Reflexion der Hochschulkultur.

Pasternack

Institute im Inland | Interview

„Distanzierte Affinität“ zur Hochschule

Prof. Dr. Peer Pasternack ist Direktor des Instituts Hochschulforschung der Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg und lehrt im Fach Soziologie. Als Forschungsschwerpunkte nennt er Bildung und Wissenschaft in demografisch herausgeforderten Regionen, Hochschulpolitik, Hochschulorganisation, Qualitätssicherung und -entwicklung, akademische Bildung sowie Wissenschaftszeit­ge­schich­te. mehr: „Distanzierte Affinität“ zur Hochschule.

Wilkesmann

Institute im Inland | Interview

In der Hochschule liegen unsere Innovationskraft und unsere Zukunft

Uwe Wilkesmann ist Direktor des Zentrums für HochschulBildung an der Technischen Universität Dortmund und besetzt dort auch eine Professur für Organisationsforschung, Weiterbildungs- und Sozialmanagement. An der Universität lehrt er empirische Sozialforschung, Bildungssoziologie und Wissensmanagement. mehr: In der Hochschule liegen unsere Innovationskraft und unsere Zukunft.

Welpe

Institute im Inland | Interview

Hochschulen bereiten die Welt für die Zukunft vor

Prof. Dr. Isabell Welpe leitet seit 2014 das Bayerische Staatsinstitut für Hochschulforschung und Hochschulplanung (IHF) in München. Das Institut unterstützt die Hochschulpolitik und die Hochschulen Bayerns dabei, Forschung und Lehre für eine zukunftsfähige Gesellschaft und Wirtschaft auszubauen. Als Strategie- und Organisationsforscherin findet Isabell Welpe es wichtig, „Hochschulen, die ja die Quelle von Innovationen sind, als Organisationen zu erforschen und mitzugestalten.“ mehr: Hochschulen bereiten die Welt für die Zukunft vor.

Krücken INCHER

Institute im Inland | Interview

„Lernen kann man immer.“

Prof. Dr. Georg Krückens erster Ruf war der auf eine Stiftungsprofessur zum Wissenschaftsmanagement. Schon fünf Jahre später, im Oktober 2011, wird er geschäftsführender Direktor des anerkannten Forschungsinstituts „International Centre for Higher Education Research“ in Kassel (INCHER-Kassel). mehr: „Lernen kann man immer.“.

Jungbauer-Gans

Institute im Inland | Interview

Ganzheitlich und interdisziplinär

Prof. Dr. Monika Jungbauer-Gans leitet seit dem 1. September 2015 das Deutsche Zentrum für Hochschul- und Wissenschaftsforschung (DZHW). Das Forschungsinstitut betrachtet das Hochschul- und Wissenschaftssystem ganzheitlich mit allen seinen Facetten – Lehre, Studium, Promotion, wissenschaftliche Weiterbildung, Forschung, Wissenstransfer und Innovation. Das Profil der Einrichtung ist gekennzeichnet durch die Analyse gesellschaftlich relevanter Themen. mehr: Ganzheitlich und interdisziplinär.