FIW

FIW

The Forum Internationale Wissenschaft (FIW; International science forum) is a central scientific institution at the University of Bonn. In its research, it focuses especially on the areas of democracy, science and the digital society. FIW both pursues and teaches basic research.

Currently, the Forum is organised into five departments: Department for Comparative Research on Democracies, Department for Science Studies, Department for Digital Society, Department for Strategic Partnerships and Department for Comparative Research on Religions. The Forum's theoretical hypotheses connect with the theory of the world society, and with that theory's interrelationships with a range of major function systems: economics, politics, science, law, health, religion, education, mass media, family and intimate relationships.

The FIW's Department for Science Studies studies the sociology and policies of the science system. It focuses on the science system's changing forms of communication and action, in heterogeneous contexts, along with the resonances that various societal function systems generate within the science system. It also considers the extent to whether different world regions exhibit tangible differences with regard to the ways in which science sectors interact with their surrounding contexts.

In sum, its research programme highlights the following questions: How does the science system react to various performance expectations, such as those formulated by policymakers, industry, the education system or the health system? What mechanisms facilitate translation between societal problems and scientific research questions? How do scientific communities develop their research agendas, and what role do requirements imposed by the surrounding society play in such agendas? What impacts does scientific research have on institutions that are outside of the science sector and that seek to analyse and solve societal problems?

FIW

FIW

Das Forum Internationale Wissenschaft (FIW) ist eine zentrale wissenschaftliche Einrichtung der Universität Bonn. Es konzentriert sich insbesondere auf die Forschungs- und Handlungsfelder Demokratie, Wissenschaft und Digitale Gesellschaft. Am FIW wird Grundlagenforschung betrieben und gelehrt.

Gegenwärtig gliedert sich das Forum in drei wissenschaftliche Abteilungen (Demokratieforschung, Wissenschaftsforschung und Digitale Gesellschaft) sowie in das Ressort Strategische Partnerschaften. Eine vierte wissenschaftliche Abteilung (Religionsforschung) befindet sich im Aufbau. Der Leitgedanke des Forums ist mit der Theorie der Weltgesellschaft und ihren Kommunikationszusammenhängen zu den Funktionssystemen Wirtschaft, Politik, Wissenschaft, Recht, Gesundheit, Religion, Erziehung, Massenmedien, Familie und Intimbeziehungen verknüpft.

Die Abteilung Wissenschaftsforschung des FIW widmet sich der Soziologie und Politik des Wissenschaftssystems. Untersucht werden einerseits die sich wandelnden Kommunikations- und Handlungsformen der Wissenschaft in heterogenen Kontexten, andererseits die Resonanzen, die verschiedene gesellschaftliche Funktionssysteme im Wissenschaftssystem erzeugen. Erforscht wird zudem, inwieweit es greifbare Unterschiede gibt in verschiedenen Weltregionen bezüglich der Interaktionskonstellationen der Wissenschaft und ihrer Umwelt.

Folgende Fragen stehen im Vordergrund des Forschungsprogramms: Wie reagiert die Wissenschaft auf Leistungserwartungen, die z. B. von der Politik, der Wirtschaft, dem Erziehungssystem oder dem Gesundheitssystem formuliert werden? Welche Mechanismen ermöglichen die Übersetzung zwischen gesellschaftlichen Problemen und wissenschaftlichen Forschungsfragen? Wie entwickeln wissenschaftliche Gemeinschaften ihre Forschungsagenden und welche Rolle spielen darin die Anforderungen der gesellschaftlichen Umwelt? Welchen Einfluss hat wissenschaftliche Forschung auf außerwissenschaftliche Institutionen, die sich der Bearbeitung und Lösung gesellschaftlicher Probleme widmen?